Law Provisions to Guide Employers against Sexual Harassment Complaints

Law Provisions to Guide Employers against Sexual Harassment ComplaintsThe Fair Employment and Housing Act (FEHA) define sexual harassment as the maltreatment founded on actions that are sexual in nature. It is also considered as a form of gender harassment, and the sexuality of the harasser or job position is considered irrelevant once the case is filed in court.

In other words, the harasser can be either male or female and from any position within the place of work; at times, they could be even customers of the company.

In relation to this, one of the states with many sexual harassment complaints is the state of California. Under California employment laws, this kind of violation is strictly prohibited, yet many companies are still prosecuted in court by harassed employees. It seems that many employers are not fully informed of the laws that they are supposed to follow.

Regular workers may find an ample amount of articles regarding sexual harassment that would equip them with the proper knowledge if they were subjected to it in the future.  However, there seems to be limited reading materials that cater to the owners of companies, which is rather disadvantageous to them. To help owners out, here are some of the strictly implemented law provisions that could help them in preventing the possibility of sexual harassment within their companies:

  • Make all the necessary steps to prevent discrimination and harassment from taking place.
  • If the harassment had already occurred, do effective actions to stop it from further happening, or correct the effects.
  • Make and implement policies for sexual harassment prevention. These policies would permit employees from making complaints and for the employer to have the capability to investigate complaints. Such policies must contain these provisions:

o   Inform the complainant completely regarding his or her obligations and rights.

o   There should be an investigation regarding the reported acts of harassment. The probe must also be done in an objective, systematic and absolute manner. People who knew about what happened should be interviewed.

o   The company owner must inform the complainant that actions were already done to stop the harassment.

o   The complainant must be able to recover his or her losses after the harassment was proven.

15 thoughts on “Law Provisions to Guide Employers against Sexual Harassment Complaints

  1. It is not my first time to pay a quick visit this website, i
    am browsing this web page dailly and obtain good data from here daily.

  2. Hi, i think that i saw you visited my weblog so
    i came to “return the favor”.I am attempting
    to find things to improve my site!I suppose its ok to use some of your ideas!

    !

  3. I like the helpful info you provide in your articles.
    I will bookmark your weblog and check again here regularly.
    I’m quite sure I will learn lots of new stuff right here! Best of luck for the next!

  4. I do not drop a comment, however after browsing through a
    great deal of comments on this page Law Provisions to Guide
    Employers against Sexual Harassment Complaints
    | Current Events in California Employment Law. I do have some questions for you if you do not mind.
    Is it just me or do some of these comments come across like they are coming from brain dead folks?
    😛 And, if you are writing at additional social sites, I’d like to follow anything fresh you have to post. Could you list of all of your social sites like your linkedin profile, Facebook page or twitter feed?

  5. Hello! I could have sworn I’ve been to this blog before but after checking through some of the post I realized it’s new to me.
    Anyhow, I’m definitely delighted I found it and I’ll be bookmarking and checking back often!

  6. I think that what you typed made a bunch of sense. However, think about this, what if you wrote a catchier post title?
    I ain’t saying your content is not good., but what if you added something to possibly get folk’s attention?

    I mean Law Provisions to Guide Employers against Sexual
    Harassment Complaints | Current Events in California Employment Law is a little plain. You might look at Yahoo’s home page and note how they write post titles to grab viewers interested. You might add a related video or a related picture or two to grab people interested about what you’ve written. In my opinion, it could bring your posts a little livelier.

  7. I must thank you for the efforts you have put in writing this website.
    I am hoping to check out the same high-grade content from you in the future as well. In fact, your creative writing abilities has inspired me to get my own, personal blog now 😉

    • You’re welcome. You may also subscribe on my blog to get more updates. I’m glad that my blog has inspired you to create your personal blog. Cheers!

Comments are closed.