Filing an FMLA Leave to Take Care of A Loved One

Family comes first and above anything else. In fact, the very reason why you go to work is to be able to earn money to provide for the needs of your family. More than working hard for your personal success, being a good provider for your family is one of your top priorities. That is why when something happens to the family that needs your immediate attention, you’d do anything that you can to ensure that you are there for them whenever they need you. However, your work might prevent you from leaving work to be with your family. The government understands your predicament that is why it has come up with the Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA).

This law aims to provide accommodation for employees, letting them take off work for up to 12 weeks of unpaid leave. You can use this accommodation in the event of child births, illness, or to care for an immediate family member that has a life-threatening condition. While taking this leave, the health benefits that should be given to you stay in effect. This act covers members of the public sector, public and private schools, as well as private employers with 50 or more members in his or her workforce.

Employees Benefits

So how can you apply for an FMLA? Here are the things that you should do:

  • Verify if you are eligible. Go to your manager or the human resources department of your office, get a blank FMLA form, and verify your eligibility. The law dictates that you should have worked for 1,250 hours in the last 12 months in your current job to be eligible to take a leave.
  • Fill out the form. Supply the necessary information and submit the form so that your employer can evaluate your application.
  • Have your doctor certify your application. Your physician will fill out the certification portion. Some employers may require you to pass a release form that your doctors will fill out so they can provide information to prove your need to apply for a leave. Have your doctor and yourself sign the documents prior to submission.
  • Get a copy of the forms before you submit it to your employer. Make sure to inform your employers if you will be using the FMLA leave so that they’ll be aware of your plans.

You need to work to be able to provide for the needs of your family. However, when you need to be physically present and be with your family, do not hesitate to take advantage of the FMLA law and take leaves to spend quality time with your loved ones.

25 thoughts on “Filing an FMLA Leave to Take Care of A Loved One

  1. My family always say that I am wasting my time here at net,
    but I know I am getting familiarity daily by reading such fastidious content.

    • The internet is our second home after school and it basically give us additional knowledge. Don’t lose hope and continue searching for quality resources that you can use in the future. Thanks for visiting my blog!

  2. Hi there it’s me, I am also visiting this web site on a regular basis, this website is really nice and the viewers are truly sharing good thoughts.

  3. I’m no longer sure where you are getting your info, however great topic. I needs to spend some time finding out more or working out more. Thanks for great information I used to be searching for this information for my mission.

  4. I was suggested this website by my cousin. I’m not sure whether this post is written by him as no one else know such detailed about my difficulty. You are amazing! Thanks!

  5. Pingback: New Disability Discrimination Regulations Adopted for California FEHA | Current Events in California Employment Law

  6. Hey there, my name’s Angelika and I sometimes blog about this subject too. Actually, if I may, let me ask you something.. Could it just be me or does it look like many of the responses seem like they are coming out of a bunch of idiots? 😛 Also, if you’re on other
    social network sites such as web 2.0 site list, I’d like to keep in contact. Maybe you could post a few links to some of them?

  7. Howdy I am so grateful I found your website, I really found you by accident, while I was browsing on Bing for something else, Anyways I am here now and would just like to say cheers for a remarkable post and a all round exciting blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to read through it all at the minute but I have book-marked it and also added your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a great deal more, Please do keep up the great work.

  8. Sweet blog! I found it while surfing around on Yahoo News. Do you have any tips on
    how to get listed in Yahoo News? I’ve been trying for a while but I never seem to get there! Many thanks

    • Thank you for dropping by and for taking time to comment on my post. As for your question, I wonder how my blog got to Yahoo News. I never submitted it to Yahoo either. Anyway, I guess appearing in the Yahoo! News is a paid inclusion. I have noticed several PR websites that has this feature that once you choose a specific package there will be a feature of appearing to the Yahoo! News. I guess that is how it is done. Hope that helps.

  9. Its not my first time to go to see this site, i am browsing this website daily and take good information from here every day.

  10. Excellent post. I was checking continuously this weblog and I’m inspired! Extremely helpful info particularly the last phase 🙂 I handle such info much. I used to be looking for this certain information for a long time. Thank you and good luck.

  11. My spouse and I stumbled over here from a different web address and thought I might check things out.
    I like what I see so i am just following you. Look forward to exploring your web page yet again.

    • Thank you for visiting my page. I’m hoping to see more of you here. Although I know it would be difficult to know who exactly you are since many of the comments here comes from Anonymous. lol

  12. It’s good that you took the occasion to write this, as it’s a subject that
    is very significant to me. Where are your contact information though?
    My name’s Kellee Broughton and I’d love to discuss this more.

  13. Hello, I’m Cecilia and I’ve just recently started to get involved with what you’re referring to. I don’t know where you’re getting your ideas, but solid job even so. I really should devote some time learning and understanding much more. Thanks for this: this is just what I was looking for for my goal.

    • I’d be very glad that you used my contents as your reference, Cecilia. As for my writing skills, I make sure that the post is made for humans and not as search engine manipulated. Hope that helps.

Comments are closed.